Jaivardhan Sinha
    Scientist D, SNBNCBS

   Telephone 91-33-2335 5706/07/08 (extn. 374)

Educational Background:

  • M. Sc-PhD Dual degree,

    Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India.(July 2003-Oct 2010)
  • Professional Background:

  • Scientist D, S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata (Nov 2014 - present)

  • Post Doctoral Research Associate at S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata(May 2014 - Oct 2014)

  • Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan (Oct-2010 - March 2014)

  • Research Interests:

  • Spintronics, Perpendicular Magnetic Anisotropy, Spin Torque Nano-oscillators and Magneto-optics.

      Significant Recent Publications:

      • A. Ganguly, R. M. Rowan-Robinson, A. Haldar, S. Jaiswal, J. Sinha, A. T. Hindmarch, D. A. Atkinson, and A. Barman, Time-domain detection of current controlled magnetization damping in Pt/Ni81Fe19 bilayer and determination of Pt spin Hall angle, Appl. Phys. Lett. 105, 112409 (2014).
      • Jaivardhan Sinha and Masamitsu Hayashi, Linewidth variation of the higher harmonics in spin-torque vortex oscillators, IEEE. Mag. Lett, 5, 3000204 (2014).
      • Jacob Torrejon, Junyeon Kin, Jaivardhan Sinha, Seiji Mitani, Masamitsu Hayashi, Michihiko Yamanouchi, and Hideo Ohno, Interface control of magnetic chirality in CoFeB/MgO heterostructures with heavy-metal underlayers Nature Communications 5, 4655, (2014).
      • Junyeon Kim, Jaivardhan Sinha, Seiji Mitani and Masamitsu Hayashi, Saburo Takahashi and Sadamichi Maekawa Michihiko Yamanouchi and Hideo Ohno, Anomalous temperature dependence of current induced torques in CoFeB|MgO heterosctructures with Ta based underlayers, Phys. Rev. B 89, 174424 (2014).
      • F. Sanches, V. Tiberkevich, K. Y. Guslienko, J. Sinha, M. Hayashi, O. Prokopenko, and A. N. Slavin, Current-driven gyrotropic mode of a magnetic vortex as a nonisochronous auto-oscillator, Phys. Rev. B 89, 140410(R) (2014).
      • Jaivardhan Sinha, Masamitsu Hayashi, Andrew J. Kellock, Shunsuke Fukami, Michihiko Yamanouchi, Hideo Sato, Shoji Ikeda, Seiji Mitani, See-hun Yang, Stuart S. P. Parkin and Hideo Ohno, Enhanced interface perpendicular magnetic anisotropy in Ta|CoFeB|MgO using nitrogen doped Ta underlayers, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 242405 (2013).
      • Junyeon Kim, Jaivardhan Sinha, Masamitsu Hayashi, Michihiko Yamanouchi, Shunsuke Fukami, Tetsuhiro Suzuki, Seiji Mitani and Hideo Ohno, Layer thickness dependence of the current induced effective field vector in Ta|CoFeB|MgO, Nature Materials, 12, 240 (2013).
      • Masamitsu Hayashi, Michihiko Yamanouchi, Shunsuke Fukami, Jaivardhan Sinha, Seiji Mitani and Hideo Ohno, Spatial control of magnetic anisotropy for current induced domain wall injection in perpendicularly magnetized CoFeB|MgO nanostructures, Appl. Phys. Lett. 100, 192411 (2012)
      • Jaivardhan Sinha, Masamitsu Hayashi, Yukiko K. Takahashi, Tomohiro Taniguchi, Maksim Drapeko, Seiji Mitani, and Kazuhiro Hono, Large amplitude microwave emission and reduced nonlinear phase noise in Co2Fe(Ge0.5Ga0.5) Heusler alloy based pseudo spin valve nanopillars, Appl. Phys. Lett. 99, 162508 (2011).
      • Gorky Shaw, Jaivardhan Sinha, Shyam Mohan, and S. S. Banerjee, Driven weak to strong pinning crossover in partially nanopatterned 2H-NbSe2 single crystal, Superconductor Science and Technology, 23, 099801 (2010).
      • Shyam Mohan, Jaivardhan Sinha, S. S. Banerjee, A.K. Sood, S. Ramakrishnan and A. K. Grover, Large low-frequency fluctuations in the velocity of a driven vortex lattice in a single crystal of 2H-NbSe2 superconductor, Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 167001 (2009)
      • Jaivardhan Sinha, Shyam Mohan, S. S. Banerjee, Subhendu Kahaly and G. Ravindra Kumar, Mapping giant magnetic fields around dense solid plasmas by high-resolution magneto-optical microscopy. Phys. Rev. E, 77, 046118 (2008)
      • Shyam Mohan, Jaivardhan Sinha, S. S. Banerjee and Yuri Myasoedov, Instabilities in the Vortex Matter and the Peak Effect Phenomenon. Phys. Rev. Lett. 98, 027003 (2007).
      Personal Home Page
      Faculty Page